Tuesday, 3 May 2016

Simultaneous Touchdown

In Exeter vs Wasps game this weekend why, when TMO adjudged simultaneous touchdown in goal after kick through by Steenson , did he give 5m scrum to Exeter. surely it's either a try or a 22 drop out to Wasps. As Exeter then scored seems a little harsh on defending side
Wayne Morris

Hi Wayne

This is a rare occurrence, but is specifically covered in law.
If there is doubt about which team first grounded the ball in the in-goal, play is re-started by a 5-metre scrum, in line with the place where the ball was grounded. The attacking team throws in the ball.
The Rugby Ref

No comments:

Post a Comment