Thursday 2 June 2016

Ball Kicked From Own Ingoal

Could you please tell me what the ruling is if a defending team has a scrum feed 5m out from their own line and the ball is passed from the halfback back into the ingoal and kicked out on the full?
Hi Richard

So the defending team take the ball back into their own in-goal and then kick the ball straight out.

If they kick the ball out over the dead ball or touch-in-goal lines; the result is a 5m attacking scrum.

If they kicked the ball into touch; the result is the same as if the payer had kicked it out from the 22.
So lineout where the ball crossed the touchline, The opposition get the throw in.

The Rugby Ref