Tuesday, 28 April 2015

Poor form?

Hi there, Just wondered if this is considered poor form from both Cheika and Peyper or if it’s a more normal occurrence than we realise at that level? Article here.
Hi Sean This is definitely not a normal occurrence and is against all the protocols. Coaches and team officials should not enter the referees room at half time, or for a 30 minutes "cooling down period" after the game. I am amazed this wasn't dealt with more robustly.

Kind Regards
The Rugby Ref

Question from Allan Hibbens

I notice recently that certain ball carriers go into contact/ The tackle shoulder first or forearm up and leading. Im not sure on the law on this one please advise.
Hi Allan If the ball carriers arm is across his body and he uses his forearm to push away the tackler as the tackle is made, then that is acceptable. If however he leads with the forearm, or swings it into the would be tackler, that is dangerous play and should be penalised. It's really one of those things where you have to see each instance and judge them individually.

The Rugby Ref