Wednesday 18 August 2021

Global Law Trials

The following global law trials apply to competitions beginning on or after 1st August 2021.

World Rugby GLT's LINK


The trial

If the team in possession kicks the ball from inside their own half indirectly into touch inside their opponents’ 22, they will throw into the resultant lineout. The ball cannot be passed or carried back into the defensive half for the 50:22 to be played. The phase must originate inside the defensive half.

Primary intention

To encourage the defensive team to put more players in the backfield, thereby creating more attacking space and reducing defensive line speed.

Goal line drop-out

The trial

If the ball is held up in in-goal, there is a knock-on from an attacking player in in-goal or an attacking kick is grounded by the defenders in their own in-goal, then play restarts with a goal line drop-out anywhere along the goal line.

Primary intention

To encourage variety in attacking play close to the goal line and to increase ball in play time by replacing a scrum with a kick that must be taken without delay. An opportunity for counter attack is also created.

Flying wedge

The trial

To sanction the three person pre-bound mini-scrum by redefining the flying wedge.

Primary intention

To reduce number of events where the ball carrier and multiple support players are in contact (latched) prior to contact, and to protect the tackler who can be faced with the combined force of three opposing players.

1-player pre-latched

The trial

To recognise the potential for 1-player pre-latching prior to contact, but this player must observe all of the requirements for a first arriving player, particularly the need to stay on their feet.

Primary intention

To be more consistent in the management of the 1-person pre-latched player.

Cleanout and the safety of the jackler

The trial

To introduce a sanction for clean outs which target or drop weight onto the lower limbs.

Primary intention

To reduce injury risk to the player being cleaned out.

Friday 13 August 2021

This question has been bugging me for a while

This question has been bugging me for a while, and I'm not sure about the answer. 
Scenario:  In a 15s match, team A has been awarded a penalty, and they chose to kick for goal by place kicking it. The attempt at goal was genuine, however, it wasn't successful and the ball ended up in touch (either because of the strong wind, poor execution, or the ball bounced off the post) without touching any player.
According to law 18.8.c:  "Ball is kicked from a penalty.  Event: A player kicks the ball into touch (either directly or first bouncing in the field of play or hitting an opponent or the referee).  Who throws in: The kicking team."  Seems like team A should get the throw-in of the lineout.
But according to what Clarification 2, 2006 (literally 15 years ago) says:  "If the penalty kick is for goal, then it is a lineout defending team to throw in. Law 21.4(d)."  Seems like team B should get the throw-in of the lineout.
Should the referee award the throw-in of the resulting lineout to team A or team B? 
(Nigel Owens answering a similar question: )
If the same scenario happened in a 7s/10s match, is it correct that team A get the throw-in? (Since they could only drop kick for goal instead of place kicking, therefore no issue regarding "place kick for touch".)


Lots of questions there Sam, we can ignore the clarification since all clarifications were transferred into law before the new simplified law book was written.  Unfortunately the simplified law book moved and omitted a lot of useful data!

We have to go with what the Law Book currently says.  The kick at goal must be a credible attempt, however if in the very unlikely circumstances it were to genuinely get blown into touch the kicking team would get the throw in.  It is the referees decision however as to whether the attempt at goal was genuine.

In 7s/10s the drop goal is still a penalty kick, just taken in a different way (in 15s any penalty kick can be taken as a drop goal), it doesn't stop it being a penalty.  So the result would be the same.


The Rugby Ref