From below clip, white team won the line out but red team didn't make a maul meanwhile the white team stayed without moving forward. The ref called a scrum to white.
Did the ref apply the rule 20.4(d)?
BTW, is there any definition about "stoppage" in 20.4(d)
BlyNB: you may need to view in YouTube depending on your location, and then fast forward to see the incident in question. 2.28 on the slider or 45.00 on the game clock.
This was a very unusual incident. The ball is at the front of the "not a maul" so no obstruction, red team have not left the lineout. There is no obligation for either team to do anything, however the referee is trying to facilitate a game of rugby, so yes The Rugby Ref believes he gave a scrum to white under the heading "any irregularity not covered by law".
Let's just play rugby fellas?
20.4 THE TEAM THROWING THE BALL INTO THE SCRUM
(d) Scrum after any other stoppage. After any other stoppage or irregularity not covered by Law, the team that was moving forward before the stoppage throws in the ball. If neither team was moving forward, the attacking team throws in the ball.The Rugby Ref