I was wondering if you could help me with some clarification regarding the in goal area.
In the following video at 2:10 Northampton kick the ball into Newcastle's in goal area when Andy Goode then walks the ball out.
As I believe the rules outline, and believe what happened, is that this results in a 22 drop out? As Northampton kicked the ball into the in goal area, it doesn't matter Newcastle took it out of play. Firstly could you clarify if this is indeed correct?
Leading on from this:
If the ball were kicked/carried into the in goal area by the attacking team, and a defending player kicks it out over the dead ball line, does this result in a 22?
If the ball were kicked/carried into the in goal area by the attacking team, and a defending player drops it backwards accidentally over the dead ball line, does this result in a 22?
Many thanks for taking the time to read and respond!
If the ball goes into in-goal and is then made dead by any means, you are indeed correct in your assertion that it is who puts the ball into in-goal that is important, not who makes it dead.
If the attackers put the ball into in-goal and it is made dead, result 22m drop out.
If the defenders put the ball into in-goal and it is made dead, result attacking 5m scrum.
Running, walking or kicking the ball over the dead ball line or touch-in-goal are all legitimate ways of making the ball dead.
On your last point, what you cannot do is "intentionally" knock, place, push or throw the ball dead. The word intentionally is important, but it is up to the referee to decide if a ball was made dead in this way intentionally or accidentally. If this is done to prevent a probable try, then a Penalty Try would result.
So the answer to all your questions is Yes, as described a 22 would result in all cases.
The Rugby Ref